• Creator
    Topic

David Diener
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Fathom
    Engines: Cummins 370b

Hey guys,

i have my engine out the boat. I keep looking at the engine mounts and wondering if I should be replacing them. The boat is 16 hrs old and has a little over 1000 hrs on it. New had any vibration issues but keep thinking since I’m going to have to align everything Ā I should replace them? What kind of life do you normally get out of these mounts. I’ve attached a picture of a couple of them. They all look about the same.

Thanks.Ā 

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Rob Schepis
    Forum Moderator
    Vessel Name: Tenacious
    Engines: 6BTA 5.9 330's - "Seaboard Style"

David,

I have no knowledge of the Yanmar 6LP in the Albin 28TE having issues with seawater into the turbo outlet and that was a very popular powerplant for that boat starting in the later 90’s.

David Diener
    Participant

Lol

Thanks for all the advice Rob. Ā Been off for a while, but got the boat back in the water and she seems to be running good. Knock on wood! Time to go try and catch some stoopid fish. Cause I can’t catch the smart ones Ā 

Next project is to get Tony to hook me up with a high mount turbo so I’m not sweating every time the waves kick up.

Rob, had a question for you. You said you had taken a yanmar out of a 28 albin. I was wondering if the yanmar had the same issue as the cummins as far as not having the turbo high enough above the water. From what I’ve seen on other boats with yanmars is the exhaust goes forward then turns Ā before it turns aft Ā and then goes back out of the boat. So seems to make a u Ā shape which would seems to make it harder for water to get to the turbo? Ā Is this correct or does the yanmar have the same issue in the Albin?Ā 

Thanks!

Rob Schepis
    Forum Moderator

Engine, Paddleboard, etc

David,

The paddleboard is another option, just don’t invite me!