• Creator
    Topic

oguzhanakalinnarp
    Participant

Hello everyone, I just purchased a partly burned boat with 2 sets of QSC8.3 Cummins engine. The previous owner told me there isnt any water damage inside engine casing but I can see the corrosion on engine and want to check inside. However, I dont have a instruction manual to how to overhaul the engine. I am a marine engineer myself so I have knowledge on maintaining and overhauling marine engines but as you can imagine; I need instructions. If any of you can help me I will send you a box of turkish delight šŸ™‚ Ā 

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Replies

oguzhanakalinnarp
    Participant

Hi Rob,

This project is undergoing for around 2 years. In that years all the water/heat damages are rectified. Also I have a partner who just wants this project to finish so money and time is no issue. I am in charge of all the mechanics of the yacht.

Yeap the ECM board is completely fried and all the sensors are burnt. We found a good electrical engineer who worked on vessels so he should be familiar with all the sensors and plugs. We believe these engines will be working like brand new in no time. Quick question: Is it possible that this engines are built without a marine gear oil cooler/fuel cooler on them. Is it optional to have this cooler?

I am looking for some wiring diagram that shows the positions of the sensors…

Rob Schepis
    Forum Moderator
    Vessel Name: Tenacious
    Engines: 6BTA 5.9 330's - "Seaboard Style"

For a simple mechanical diesel this project could be doable but for a common rail electronic engine there is way too much damage to expensive electronic components to make this a worthwhile project IMHO.Ā  Based on the waterline visible on that shot of the flywheel end of the engine I would worry about the amount of water exposure in addition to the obvious fire/heat damage..

oguzhanakalinnarp
    Participant

Pics included

Hi Tony,