• Creator
    Topic

Blair Ostergren
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Riley Blair II
    Engines: 4bt

New to site and My first pair of Cummins. I tried a search with no luck so I apologize if this has already been discussed. I am purchasing a 1996 Bayliner 3388. Engines are 150 HP turbo 4BT’s. I am looking to safely increase the power of this without losing Reliablity. I know there is a 250 version of these and some folks are getting 300-400 hp out of the 4bts in trucks. So my question is. Is it as simple as to turn up the fuel to increase HP in these engines? And unharmful in the marine environment to run at cruise speed for hours.

Thanks,

Viewing 4 replies - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Replies

stuart hearn
    Participant
    Engines: 4btm

4btm

Good day
    I was a field service technician with Cummins in Australia in the early 1970s
    My work used to consist of rating 903 down the mines, that is to detune because of sulphurs and nitrous oxides, rebuilding 855 and 1710 engines
    555 504
    This was well before the time of bored in the block engines
    In the late 70s, I started building metal yachts and then in 1986 I founded my own company building aluminium sailing yachts and commercial craft

I use a 4B engine as the main power on sailing yachts to 60 ft they were incredibly reliable
    Last month I bought a brand new for BTM that had been in storage for 9 years it was built
    in the year 2010
    You have stated here that the 150 cannot be uprated could you tell me why that is could it be up rated by changing pistons stuff like that
    It is fitted with a Hurth 1.5
    Gear and I was going to put it in a planing boat displacement 2300kg unfortunately I cannot find an out Drive
    shaft drive would be great but the draught is too much for Launching as a trailer boat