• Creator
    Topic

Curt Prichard
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Wine N Down

Hello,

I am new to this wonderful website and am close to making an offer to buy my first diesel powered boat. I currently have two boats on my short list, both are Sea Ray 2005 420 Sedan Bridge. One has the 450C, 833 hours, and the other has the 480C-E with 630 hours. Ā Both have reportedly spent most of their lives in fresh water. The 450C has been in brackish water for the last 18 months. I am leaning toward the 480C-E but have a concern that the motors may be abused. The starboard motor wasĀ overhauled (don’t have the details at this time) and is still under warranty by Cummins. I am concerned about the port motor. What do you think about the discoloration of the turbo and aftercoolers? Is this expected or signs of excessive temps?

All advice is welcome (including general advice comparing 450C vs 480C-E)

Thank you,

Curt

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Curt Prichard
    Participant

Thanks Dave,

I have been going back and forth between the 450C and 480CE. Now I am pretty certain I will settle on the 450C for all of the reasons you have stated as well as the information above.

Thanks.

Dave Carlson
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Bec'n Me
    Engines: 500 QSC

I purchased a 2005 42 Sundancer in November of 2015. After having these engines for a year I would never buy these at twice the reduction. Right off the bat you need to prop them to be 450’s. These engines have one off electronics with little support. If you want to upgrade the SmartCrap you have no chance and need to start over with new systems. The OEM Smartcraft does not give you all the info you want even though there is a page for it! I don’t have load,exhaust temp or any trans info to name a few. I too am trying to decide if I should replace the original head on one engine.