• Creator
    Topic

firehoser75
    Participant
    Engines: Cummins 6BTA M3-330 HP

Hi Everyone,
    I just thought I would post about my first time experience with removing my aftercooler for routine maintenance per Tony’s protocol.
    For background, I am not a mechanic, but am a “bit handy”. I did find the thought of doing this myself a bit daunting, especially as how important the proper functioning of the aftercooler is to overall engine health.
    However, I took the “plunge”. Removal, following suggestions from members of this forum was relatively easy (access issues aside). I just loosened all of the hose clamps, removed the lower air side intake and the seawater exit hose near the gear oil cooler. From there it was only 4 bolts to remove and the unit just “pulled out”. It is a bit heavy but not too bad. I left the brackets on the aftercooler and the air preheat still attached.
    Serviced as per Tony’s instructions.
    Pressure testing turned out to be more “interesting” than I had hoped. Don’t ask me why, but my unit would not hold air pressure when testing the seawater side. I tried to test my test equipment connections using shaving foam to spot air leaks. I found a couple and corrected them (I thought). Following advice from Rob, I then tested my whole aftercooler with pressure in a deep water filled tub. This allowed me to see the leaks. None were coming from the aftercooler air side. To be safe, I took off the air preheat and taped over the electrical “plug in connection” (prior to dunking), then sprayed this connection with WD40 after immersion. Free advice, when assembling your testing setup, double check that you have used Rector Seal (or equivalent) at EVERY connection šŸ™‚ Again, don’t ask!