• Creator
    Topic

sam cutajar
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Jafetica
    Engines: Cummins 6BTA 5.9 M2 315Hp

Hello guys I am rely hoping for someone to shed some light on this issue. I am in the process of rebuilding my cummins 6bta 5.9 M2 engines and since I need to get the correct parts I would like to ask the difference in CPL 1613 and CPL 1928. Would I be correct in understanding that CPL 1613 is referring to an engine with 250 Hp while CPL 1928 is referring to 315 Hp? My engines were uprated from 250 Hp to 315 Hp by changing the injectors and re-calibrating the pumps and I was told by cummins that my engines now fall under CPL 1928. The reason I am doing the rebuilding is because one of my engines broke an exhaust valve and therefore have to also replace the piston and the valves of this particular engine. My other question would be is the cylinder head complete with valves the same for CPL 1613 and CPL 1928? Please excuse me if I am mixing up things but I am not a mechanic and would like to understand better my engines as when I left it in the hands of some mechanics they made a mess at my expense. Thank you for your help and assistance.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Tony Athens
    Vessel Name: Local Banks
    Engines: QSB 6.7 550 HP

If the parts are available, we’ll get it sorted out. If you have sleeve damage,Ā  you maybe be looking at a complete genuine Cummins long block..

sam cutajar
    Participant

Tony one question about the parts. If I need to replace any pistons valves or injectors how do I find the correct and recent part numbers for the 315 Hp so I am sure to order the correct parts. I cannot trust anyone locally as I have been bitten to many times and suffering the consequences. Thank you

Tony Athens