• Creator
    Topic

Dean Brown
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Arrr & Arrr
    Engines: Cummings 6CTA 450

I’m new to diesels , notably the 450C. Purchased and sea trialed the boat (sea Ray 420 DB) in Dec. At the sea trial and engine survey the motors ran in the mid 170’s at cruise and 160-162 at idle. Now As I compare to other 450 C they seem to run about 160 at idle and at cruise. Fast forward 7 months both motors run 175-180F. At cruise Could it be that I have 180 thermostats? Nothing was noted as out of the ordinary with temps at survey and they have been consistent. I don’t have a baseline on history of the motors but plan to do a full maintenance of the cooling system at the end of the season.

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Gerasimos
    Participant

Old topic but figured it may be better than starting a new thread. 6CTA’s I did my aftercoolers last winter and was running at 160 on both at cruise. One was horrible corroded ended up getting a new one from you guys.  Only at WOT would they go to 170ish. A few days ago my gauge was spiking to 180 for a split second and then dropping back down. Almost looked like a gauge electrical issue because of the speed of the up and down. Then I started paying more attention and at cruise my port side engine (older aftercooler that was serviced and pressure tested a year ago) and realized that at cruise around 2000ish RPM it seems to hover between 165-170, wheras my starboard engine (new AC) is steady at 160.