• Creator
    Topic

Dave Shapiro
    Participant
    Vessel Name: #NotYet

I have a 2010 SeaRay Sundancer 500 w QSC 550s and Zeus Pods.
    The PO had the dieselview replaced with a VesselView7

Under the “ADVANCED” tab I get
    Load
    Throttle
    Boost
    Trans Oil Pressure
    But no where do I see Exhaust Gas Temps.

I know there is a sensor for it because I had one go bad at the beginning of the season and it threw off an alarm code.

Is there any place I can monitor those values? Any way to program it into the VesselView7?
    Thanks!

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Dave Shapiro
    Participant

Thanks Dave,
    Thinking about it, I think you are correct for my situation as well. That EGT sensor is indeed in the water flow.

Not sure I am going to install another sensor..

Dave Shapiro
    Participant

Hi Steve,
    This is my first year with the boat and with pods.
    I bought the boat knowing the pods had deferred maintenance and negotiated accordingly. I had them fully serviced and as a result, I now have a low hour boat with all maintenance up to snuff and intend on keeping it that way. I have read some of the stories on pods, as you have mentioned. I have not experienced them. I do think it is important to have a certified cummins/mercruiser mechanic in your general vicinity to do the maintenance for you. The technology on these are significantly more than ye olde straight shaft boats. Just like automatic transmissions have more tech than standard transmissions or fuel injection has more tech than a carb.
    What you get along with that technology is a 50′ boat that handles like it is on rails, increased fuel economy and performance. The handling isn’t just with the joystick, even when maneuvering in close quarters just with the clutches, the boats handling is superior.
    I highly recommend the package.

Steve Lewis
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Just Us
    Engines: Cummins 480CE