• This topic has 6 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 5 years ago by Dan.
  • Creator
    Topic

Dan
    Participant
    Engines: Cummins

In the lead up to hauling my boat Ive been chipping away at my riser to turbo bolts for six months,they have been on there since new in 06, with a bit of heat,lube some slight tapping , elbow grease and patience one by one they have come free except for one (on the bottom with very limited access)

The boat came out of the water on Monday and I took both turbos and risers off, put a little heat on the last stuck bolt and it came free with some channel locks.

Attached are some pics of my turbo’s, and one end of one HX, can I get some input as to there condition,nothing has ever been removed from either engine since new.

The HX looks great to me apart from some wayward zinc pieces ,have I disturbed anything (the O ring by pulling the end cap off?) If need be I can slide the core out of the HX housing and replace the seals, the other engine not so easy, I haven’t taken that end cap off yet.

Part of the reason for doing all this was both engines where losing a very slight amount of coolant over time ,one gasket it was clearly evident the coolant was being lost to the exhaust.

Motors are 4bta’s,I see two gaskets available for the water cover to manifold on SB products,what is the preferred gasket? Same question for the turbo to riser gasket

Im sure there will be more as I dig into this…

1 user thanked author for this post.
Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Dan
    Participant

Hi Tom thanks for your input,

I haven’t done anything with it all yet, just gathering options and looking at the ‘evidence’.