• Creator
    Topic

Sean Filburn
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Just Be
    Engines: QSB 380's on the way

So I’m new to the group… I love my 290 Amberjack but its time to move up because the Admiral wants more space and I want Diesels! Hopefully I can get some advice here. I’m a hobbyist mechanic, but my expertise ends past the dipstick and the wiring harness. We are looking at a 390DA with 700h QSB 380’s and in one of the pictures the stbd turbo looks like it has gotten hot enough to fry all the paint, the port motor does not have the same look. My questions- is it normal? what could have done that if not? is it a walk away issue? I really appreciate anyone’s advice. Obviously I’ll get a complete motor survey before buying but I’m looking for a bit of insight before spending that $

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Rob Schepis
    Forum Moderator
    Vessel Name: Tenacious
    Engines: 6BTA 5.9 330's - "Seaboard Style"

Sean, you’ve got some real good feedback above so hopefully it’s clear enough as to the issues at hand here. I do have a strong hull surveyor recommendation for the CT area if ever needed. Let me know.

1 user thanked author for this post.

Steve Lewis
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Just Us
    Engines: Cummins 480CE

Chocolate Pudding

Sean,