• Creator
    Topic

Greg webb
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Lola Mola
    Engines: Cummins 4bta

So earlier this year I bought a 76 mako 23 inboard direct drive completely stripped. No engine, electronics, wiring, plumbing, nothing. So I’ve been rebuilding for the last 6 months. I have an engine coming for it in a few days, a Cummins 4bta. I’m on to the fuel system stage of the process and need a recommendation. I’ve already read the forum about the multi stage fuel filter system and know that I want a 3 stage system but still feel like I don’t know what to buy. The boat has 2 35 gallon tanks which I want to draw from simultaneously and not have to switch back and forth manually so I assume ( uneducatedly) that I can just run a T between the two tanks and trust that equal amounts of suction will be applied to both tanks, ( very open to better methods if anyone has suggestions). As far as the lift pump, is that already on the engine or another component I need to order to add to the fuel system? And does that take the place of a priming bulb? And finally the filters. I don’t know the fuel flow requirements of the 4bta so I don’t want to order the wrong filters. Are any of the fuel filter kits on seaboard the right set up for my application? The boat will be used heavily for commercial fishing. I really just want to know the brand of filters I should look for and the ratings I need. Thank you for any advice.

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Justin Riege

Greg, you don’t need any additional pumping.

Check out this video.

Also watch some of our other videos, some great visuals for how things are done. We are still building our video library, so its not fully comprehensive yet, but its growing every week.

Greg webb
    Participant

Fuel tanks

So both fuel tanks draw from the top with suction tubes. Would it make sense to run two inline pumps on each side before the T? Or maybe one pump after the T before the filters? Thanks!