• Creator
    Topic

jeff vargas
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Blacksheep
    Engines: QSC 8.3

Hello everyone, this is my first time as I’m in the process of buying a new (to me) boat. I have some concerns and they may be unwarranted but I’m seeking advice and information. The boat is a 2008 and has the Cummins QSC 8.3 engines with approx 450 hours on them. I don’t know much about diesel engines but have quickly learned a lot because of this awesome site. I have an offer on the boat that is contingent on everything getting checked out. I plan to hire a Cummins mechanic to check out the engines. I’m looking for a referral for a qualified, trustworthy mechanic that knows these engines in the San Francisco bay area. Does anyone here know of someone? Secondly, can anyone advise me on the things I should be looking for or concerned about? The broker says the owner has no maintenance records but he’s trying to track as much info down as possible. This has me concerned. I’m aware of the aftercooler maintenance thing because this site is awesome! Obviously oil and fluids will need to be changed so I can get a baseline…..If this thing ends up checking out! Any help or assistance is beyond appreciated. This boat is a lot of money (to me) and I don’t want to buy someone else’s problems. Thanks in advance! Ohh, and the boat is a 2008 Searay Sundancer 48. Any known issues with this make/model?

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Mike Mason
    Participant
    Engines: Qsb 5.9 380

that is somewhat normal on the qsc.Ā  I have them as well.Ā  just need to make sure you are properly loaded and within the fuel curve.Ā  read up about it on this site. they are great engines and super easy to self maintain.

Danilo Fonseca
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Hull pass
    Engines: Qsc 8.3 500

QSC 8.3