• Creator
    Topic

Orin Guidry
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Pelican
    Engines: 6BT5.9M210

1989 6BT5.9M210. CPL 0742. Fuel pump Lucas CAV DPA.

Engine has never failed to start. Small fuel leak two months ago, thought to be from the solenoid. It is difficult to see pump, outside of port engine in tight engine room. Very respected local fuel pump shop rebuilt and reinstalled pump. Ran great. Two weeks later ran great again in slip. On Saturday engine started for a few minutes before guests arrived and then shut down. When guests arrived, the engine failed to start. Turns over vigorously but never starts at all. Fuel squirts out the two bleed points on the fuel pump when the lift pump lever is pumped. I cracked all the injectors and saw fuel but I have never done this before so donĀ“t know if it was enough.

I will be getting the pump shop out again but wondered if the wisdom of the group had any thoughts.

Is it possible that on stopping the engine, that the stop solenoid gets stuck in the stopped position?

1 user thanked author for this post.
Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Bruce Poole
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Echo of the Sea
    Engines: 210 Cummins Marine

Was the sylinoid your problem? We are having the same issue. Fuel pump is full of fuel but nothing coming to injectors

Orin Guidry
    Participant

The end of the story and thank you for the previous helpful comments.

Fuel pump was perfect on the test stand twice. New fuel lift (transfer pump) installed. New solenoid and adequate voltage to the solenoid. Injectors pulled and all good. Good compression in all cylinders.

The fuel return line on this boat is in two parts – blue flexible hose connected to the engine and copper tubing connected to a manifold that directs the flow to the tanks. Mechanic cracked the connection between the hose and the tubing and the fuel was under pressure. Put the hose in a bucket and the engine instantly started.