• Creator
    Topic

Tim Flynn
    Participant

We are considering a purchase of a 1997 Bertram 36 with Cummins 450 Diamond engines. Approximately 1800 hours. Engines appear to be in good shape (sea trial and inspection pending), but the current owner has told us its not very fuel efficient above 1800 RPMs. Displacement is 30,000 lbs dry. Owner says at 1850 RPMs it is 17 knots and ~24 GPH, which seems a bit higher than the published power curves for the 450C

Fuel efficiency, no smoke/fumes and quiet motors important to us. So considering a repower to Cummins QSM, QSC or QSB. Goal is to achieve close to 20-22 GPH at 20 knots if possible. Budget is roughly $100k…would love to do for less, but willing to spend more to get it right. I assume the current 450 Diamonds can be sold to offset the repower cost.

Is this a crazy idea? I am not an expert in this stuff so please excuse any ignorance in this post!!

Viewing 13 replies - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Replies

Tim Schantz
    Participant
    Vessel Name: Miss Quinn
    Engines: QSB6.7 550hp

I’m a little late to the party here by the looks of it! I figured I would chime in anyway . I just completed a repower of my 36 Bertram Moppie. The boat originally had 430hp Volvos in it. I repowered with a set of 550hp QSB6.7’s.

From my experience your fuel burn numbers at 1800 don’t seem too far off. This hull does not like speeds below 20 knots, it’s like it is fighting itself to plane out. With the Volvo’s at 2300 RPM’s I would cruise in the 24 knot range burning around 34 gallons an hour. In my opinion this hull seems to come alive in excess of 23 or 24 knots. Becoming much more efficient and needing a lot less tab to run correctly. With the knew motors in excess of 25 knots I am running with the tabs fully retracted.